How to request a licence from Copyright Visual Arts – CARCC ?

Requesting a licence from Copyright Visual Arts is very easy.

An individual or an institution who wishes to use an art work, or several works, created by a member of Copyright Visual Arts should fill the required Request for Licence form provided on this site and email it to Copyright Visual Arts at  administration@carcc.ca

A member who receives a request for a use of a work, or works, by a User (museum, publisher, artist run centre, etc), be it for an exhibition, a reproduction or telecommunication, should inform the potential user that he or she is a member of Copyright Visual Arts and that Copyright Visual Arts will issue a licence for the use.

To assist in gathering the information necessary for issuing a licence, Copyright Visual Arts provides the member with the Request for Licence form which either the artist or the user of the artist's work may fill out.

Although it is much preferable to use the form because it is a reminder of all the necessary questions to ask, the necessary information can also be submitted to Copyright Visual Arts by email by the artist or by the user. The email and the form should be sent to administration@carcc.ca

Copyright Visual Arts uses the CARFAC-RAAV minimum Copyright and Professional Fees Schedule and its Calculator as a reference only for the different categories of users and types of uses. Artists and Users should be aware that Copyright Visual Arts systematically ask higher royalties than the minimums shown.

Artist’s instructions to Copyright Visual Arts – CARCC

In general, Copyright Visual Arts will request, in the interest of the artist it represents, the highest royalties it can collect.

This said, an artist may want to give specific instructions to Copyright Visual Arts regarding the royalties and conditions of a specific licence, because it is issued to an institution or a person he or she wishes to support personally. The artist should then inform Copyright Visual Arts of their intention. In all cases, Copyright Visual Arts will minimally charge its administration fee to the user because it takes as much time dealing with a free licence as with a paying one.

Consultation with the Artist

Although, in general, Copyright Visual Arts will discuss with an artist specific requests for licences, some licences may be directly discussed and concluded with the Users. The idea behind copyright management by a third party, such as Copyright Visual Arts, is in good part to reduce the amount of work an artist has to do. For this reason, some licences such as those for an exhibition in a well recognized institution or a reproduction in an art magazine might not require the direct involvement of the artist in the negotiation.

Moral Rights

Of course, in cases where an artist’s moral rights are in question, Copyright Visual Arts will always request a written permission from the artist before issuing a licence. For example, if a book or magazine publisher wishes to crop or modify the appearance of a work in order to adapt it to the cover’s graphic design; or if a user wishes to associate the work with a product, a service, an institution or a social or political cause, Copyright Visual Arts - CARCC will make sure to ask the artist for a written authorisation by email.

On demand, a copy of the licences that are issued can be sent the artist by email.

Payment to the Artists

Once payment is received from the user, Copyright Visual Arts pays the artist within a few days and the HST is remitted to Revenue Canada.

In February of each year, a T-5 slip is sent to artists who have received royalties during the previous fiscal year, in time for the artists to prepare their income tax report.

Acknowledgment of licensing by Copyright Visual Arts-CARCC

Copyright Visual Arts licensing must be publicly acknowledged in the accreditation of the art work in the following manner - title of the work, year of creation © name of artist (licenced by Copyright Visual Arts-CARCC, year of licence). For example: 

Years of silence II, 2006  © James Artist   (Licenced by Copyright Visual    Arts-CARCC, 2016)

The accreditation must appear with the licensed project (on the labels, under the reproduced image, etc.).

Licence for a temporary exhibition

The Exhibition Right applies to all works created after June 8, 1988 that are exhibited publicly and where the works are not presented for sale or hire. This means that exhibition royalties can be negotiated and charged to the institutions wishing to exhibit works of Copyright Visual Arts members.

Note: Copyright Visual Arts considers that an institution may not request to be excluded from the application of the Exhibition Right unless its main mission is to commercially sell or rent art works (private galleries, art merchants, etc.)

Licences for a temporary exhibition are generally for a minimum of three (3) months in duration. Any extension of that period has to be the object of a new licence.

A Copyright Visual Arts member presented with a contract that deals with copyright of any sort be it an exhibition royalty or the right to reproduce a work in a brochure or catalogue and so on should refer the contract to Copyright Visual Arts. 

Exhibition contracts presented to artists by users often cover many points related to the organisation of the exhibition, including points dealing with the copyrights of the artists. The Artist must inform the institution that all points dealing with his or her intellectual property are to be negotiated separately and licenced through Copyright Visual Arts.

Copyright Visual Arts will issue a Temporary Exhibition Licence to the institution for all matters concerning Copyrights. Reproductions of the work(s) for the purpose of promoting the artist and/or the exhibition may be included in the same licence.

The technical aspects related to the organisation of the exhibition, such as transport and insurance, or the professional services provided by an artist must be the object of a separate contract.

Exhibition royalties are payable to Copyright Visual Arts prior to the opening of the exhibition. 

Licence for the exhibition of works from a collection

The Exhibition Right included in the Copyright Act in 1988 also covers works, either donated or purchased, in the permanent collections of public museums, corporations, or other institutions when the works are presented in public exhibitions. 

Copyright Visual Arts offers a licence for works in permanent collections that allows 10 years of exhibition on the licensee’s premises. Royalties are a one-time payment for the duration of the licence. At the end of the licence period, a new licence must be negotiated.

Any exhibition outside of the licensee’s premises (such as a loan to another institution) requires a Temporary Exhibition License and royalty.

Except for archival documentation, any reproductions of work including digital or electronic require a Reproduction Licence and fee.

Where a portfolio or series of prints is involved, one print only may be licensed for exhibition provided that only one print is exhibited at a time at the licensee's location.

Alternatively, should an owner of a work subject to the exhibition fee not wish to take a Permanent Collection Exhibition Licence, a Temporary Exhibition Licence may be negotiated each time the work is exhibited whether on or off the owner’s premises.

Assignment of copyrights when selling a work

Some institutions, at the time of purchasing, may ask an artist to assign (give away) the copyrights on their work. While it may be convenient for the institution, this practice is unethical and unfair because it has negative consequences for the artist.

Copyright Visual Arts strongly recommends that artists NOT assign any of their copyrights to institutions or individuals who purchase a work.

The reason being that copyright is an important source of income during the whole life of an artist and 50 years after his or her death. It has a financial value that may represent many times the price paid for the physical property of the work.

Rather, an artist member should inform the collecting institution or individual that Copyright Visual Arts represents them for all matters concerning their copyrights.  Any permission for any use of copyright should be obtained from Copyright Visual Arts-CARCC.

Also, in Quebec, artists can get a tax reduction for their copyright income. It is therefore particularly important to include in the purchase contract a portion of the payment for certain copyright uses during a given period. When the work is donated the purchaser should at least pay the artist a royalty for the foreseeable uses. In this way an artist can deduct from their income taxes some or all of the royalties collected at the time of the sale.

It is hoped that this tax measure will soon be implemented across Canada

Reproduction Licensing (print, digital, electronic, film, video, television, etc):

Because of the variables — size, print run, method, venue — it is difficult to establish the appropriate royalties without specific details. For example: an image on a book cover demands a larger royalty than an image inside; the size, purpose, and print-run of a poster determine the royalty; books published by a non-profit publisher are charged less than a commercial venture.

The Licence Request form available on this site allows the user to fully describe the type of reproduction it intends to do and for what purpose it is requested. This information is essential to establish the proper royalties to be paid.

Copyright Visual Arts’ reproduction licenses are issued prior to the production. Royalties are usually due prior to production, although the license can include a schedule of payment if the reproduction occurs in phases or over a longer period of time.

Licences cover the terms of reproduction specifying the exact details: numbers, method, size, purpose, venue, location in the publication (i.e. cover or inside), and royalties.

Digital reproduction licences outline the uses (i.e. website, mobile application, screen saver, etc.), length of time, and requirements for protection (i.e. copyright warnings or digital watermarking).

Reprography Licensing

Reprography (the right pertaining to the secondary uses of already-published works by such means as photocopying in, for example, schools and universities) can only be managed collectively.

These collective licenses are granted throughout Canada, except in Quebec, by ACCESS Copyright. In Quebec, COPIBEC fulfills this function.

Copyright Visual Arts-CARCC, through sub-licensing agreements with ACCESS Copyright and COPIBEC receives a share of their licensing revenue for distribution to its eligible members.

Most of this revenue is drawn from the repertoire pool (shared by creators and publishers) consisting of money that cannot be paid because individual copyright holders cannot be identified with every use.

Visual artists who are members of Copyright Visual Arts and who have provided proof of eligibility share in the creators’ portion of the pool. The amounts vary from year to year. The amount an artist receives is based on a number of factors including the amount collected by Access Copyright, the number of eligible recipients, the number of works the artist has published in publications bearing ISBN or ISSN numbers over a given period and other factors.

Normally, an artist must have been a Copyright Visual Arts member over two calendar years (if you joined in 2014, for example, you would become eligible in 2016).

As well, the Artist must be a resident of any Canadian province or territory with the exception of Quebec. Copyright Visual Arts members living in Quebec are encouraged to register with COPIBEC the reprography licensing agency established in Quebec.

Copyright Visual Arts informs members when submissions concerning this royalty are required. The reprography royalty from ACCESS Copyright is annual and the cheques are generally sent in December.

Copyright Visual Arts will notify its members from time to time of deadline announcements and of special distributions from COPIBEC for artists who live outside Quebec and whose works have been published in Quebec.

Administration fees

There is no charge or membership due to join Copyright Visual Arts.

Nevertheless, Copyright Visual Arts is not a free service. Copyright Visual Arts does not receive grants from any sources and it keeps its administrative fees as low as possible.

Copyright Visual Arts supports itself by the collection of administration fees. The users of works created by Copyright Visual Arts’ members are paying the administration fees.

Copyright Visual Arts deducts an administration fee from payments to its members that are made to it by agreement with other collectives.

International licensing

Copyright Visual Arts-CARCC may make agreements that allow other copyright collectives to licence uses of its members’ works in other countries.  These collectives will take responsibility for licensing uses of works by Copyright Visual Arts members in their respective countries.  They will negotiate and issue licences on the member’s behalf, collect the payments, pay the member, and defend the licences should any infringement occur. 

Occasionally collectives in other countries will distribute royalties for unidentified uses to collectives with which they have agreements, and this money is distributed in turn to Copyright Visual Arts members. 

Copyright Visual Arts members should notify us of any out-of-country licensing needs.

At present Copyright Visual Arts members-CARCC has agreements with the following foreign collecting societies:

  • VAGA  (USA)
  • DACS  (UK)
  • VISCOPY (Australia and New Zealand)
  • SAIF  (France)
  • VG BildKunst  (Germany)
  • SOFAM  (Belgium)
  • BONO  (Norway)
  • BUS  (Sweden)
  • PICTORIGHT (Netherlands)

Copyright Visual Arts-CARCC is always working to make more agreements, in order to expand its international reach. 

Copyright Visual Arts-CARCC It is a member of CISAC-CIAGP, the international association of creators' collecting societies, which sets standards for our activities and keeps us up to date on developments in creators' copyright worldwide

Comment obtenir une licence de Droits d’auteur Arts Visuels - CARCC? 

Obtenir une licence de Droits d’auteur Arts Visuels, c’est facile.

Une personne ou une institution qui souhaite utiliser une œuvre d'art ou plusieurs œuvres créées par un-e membre de Droits d’auteur Arts visuels doit remplir le formulaire de demande de licence et l'envoyer par courriel à Droits d’auteur Arts visuels:  administration@carcc.ca

Un ou une membre de Droits d’auteur Arts Visuels qui reçoit une demande d'utilisation d'une ou plusieurs œuvres par un utilisateur (musée, éditeur, centre d'exécution d'artiste, etc.), qu'il s'agisse d'une exposition, d'une reproduction ou d'une télécommunication, doit informer le demandeur qu’il-elle est membre de Droits d’auteur Arts visuels et que cette dernière délivrera une licence pour l'utilisation.

Afin de recueillir les informations nécessaires à la délivrance d'une licence, Droits d’auteur Arts Visuels fournit au membre le formulaire de demande de licence que l'artiste ou l'utilisateur de l'œuvre peut remplir et envoyer à administration@carcc.ca . Le formulaire est utile parce qu’il rappelle toutes les questions à poser au sujet d’un projet de diffusion.


NOTE : Droits d’auteur Arts visuels utilise la Grille RAAV-CARFAC des tarifs minimum pour droits d’auteur et honoraires professionnels et sa Calculatrice comme référence uniquement pour les différentes catégories d'utilisateurs et les types d'utilisation. Les artistes et les utilisateurs doivent savoir que Droits d’auteur Arts visuel demande pour les artistes qu’elle représente des redevances plus élevées que les minimums indiqués.

Instructions de l'artiste à Droits d’auteur  Arts visuels – CARCC

En général, Droits d’auteur Arts visuels demandera, dans l'intérêt de l'artiste qu'elle représente, les redevances les plus élevées qu'elle puisse percevoir.

Cela dit, un artiste peut vouloir donner des instructions spécifiques à Droits d’auteur Arts visuels concernant les redevances et les conditions d'une licence spécifique parce qu’elle est octroyée à une institution ou une personne que l’artiste souhaite soutenir personnellement. L'artiste doit alors en informer Droits d’auteur Arts visuels. Toutefois, parce que préparer une licence gratuite prend autant de temps qu’une licence payable, Droits d'auteur Arts visuels facturera au minimum ses frais d'administration à l'utilisateur.

Consultation avec l'artiste

Bien que, en général, Droits d’auteur Arts visuels discute avec un-e artiste des demandes spécifiques de licences qui lui sont faites, certaines d’entre elles peuvent être négociées directement avec les utilisateurs. L'idée derrière la gestion des droits d'auteur par un tiers, comme Droits d’auteur Arts visuels, est de réduire la quantité de travail qu'un-e artiste doit faire. Pour cette raison, certaines licences telles que celles pour une exposition dans une institution reconnue ou une reproduction dans une revue d'art peut ne pas exiger l'implication directe de l'artiste dans la négociation.

Droits moraux

Bien entendu, dans les cas où les droits moraux d'un-e artiste sont en cause, Droits d’auteur Arts visuels demandera toujours une autorisation écrite de l'artiste avant de délivrer une licence. Par exemple, si un éditeur de livres ou de magazines souhaite recadrer ou modifier l'apparence d'une œuvre afin de l'adapter à la conception graphique de la couverture, ou encore si un utilisateur désire associer le travail à un produit, un service, une institution ou une cause sociale ou politique, Droits d’auteur Arts visuels demandera à l’artiste une autorisation écrite par courrier électronique.

Sur demande, une copie des licences délivrées peut être envoyée à l'artiste.

Paiement aux artistes

Une fois le paiement de l'utilisateur reçu, Droits d’auteur Arts visuels paie l'artiste dans les jours qui suivent et la taxe est remise à Revenu Canada.

En février de chaque année, à temps pour que les artistes préparent leur rapport d'impôt sur le revenu, un feuillet T-5 est envoyé aux artistes qui ont reçu des redevances au cours de l'exercice précédent.

Mention des licences octroyées par Droits d’auteur Arts visuels - CARCC

Une licence octroyée par Droits d'auteur Arts visuels doit être reconnue publiquement de la manière suivante - titre de l'œuvre, année de création © nom de l'artiste (Droits d’auteur Arts visuels-CARCC, année de la licence). Par exemple :


Champs de silence II, 2006 © Jacques Artiste (Droits d’auteur Arts visuels-CARCC, 2016)

La mention doit apparaître avec l’oeuvre sous licence (sur les étiquettes, sous l'image reproduite, etc.).

Licence pour une exposition temporaire

Le Droit d'exposition s'applique aux œuvres artistiques créées après le 8 juin 1988 qui sont exposées publiquement, sauf dans les cas où elles sont exposées pour fins de vente ou de location. Cela signifie que des redevances d'exposition peuvent être négociées et facturées aux institutions souhaitant exposer les œuvres des membres de Droits d'auteur Arts visuels.

Note: Droits d’auteur Arts visuels considère qu'une institution ne peut demander à être exclue de l'application du Droit d'exposition lorsqu’elle permet à l’artiste de vendre ses œuvres sauf si sa mission principale est de vendre ou de louer des œuvres d'art, par exemple dans le cas des galeries privées, des marchands d'art, des foires, etc.

Les licences pour exposition temporaire ont généralement une durée minimale de trois mois. Toute prolongation doit faire l'objet d'une nouvelle licence ou d’un addendum à la licence initiale.

Lorsqu’un-e membre de Droits d’auteur Arts visuels reçoit un contrat portant sur ses droits d’auteur, que ce soit pour une exposition ou pour la reproduction d’une œuvre dans une brochure, un catalogue ou un site internet, il-elle devrait en informer Droits d’auteur Arts visuels et lui relayer le contrat pour que Droits d’auteur Arts visuels s’occupe de le négocier.

Les contrats d'exposition présentés aux artistes par les utilisateurs couvrent souvent de nombreux points liés à l'organisation de l'exposition, y compris des points concernant les droits d'auteur des artistes. L'artiste doit informer l'institution que tous les points traitant de ses droits d’auteur doivent être négociés séparément avrec Droits d’auteur Arts visuels-CARCC.

Droits d’auteur Arts visuels délivrera une licence d'exposition temporaire à l'institution pour toutes les questions relatives aux droits d'auteur. Les reproductions d’œuvres destinées à promouvoir l'artiste ou l'exposition peuvent être incluses dans la même licence.

Les aspects techniques relatifs à l'organisation de l'exposition, tels que le transport, les assurances ou les services professionnels fournis par un artiste doivent faire l'objet d'un contrat distinct négocié entre l’artiste et l’institution.

En général, les redevances d'exposition sont payables à Droits d’auteur Arts visuels 30 jours avant l'ouverture de l'exposition.

Licence pour l'exposition d'œuvres d'une collection permanente

Le Droit d'exposition inclus dans la Loi sur le droit d'auteur s’applique également aux œuvres des collections permanentes des musées, des entreprises ou d'autres institutions collectionneuses lorsque celles-ci sont exposées publiquement. Qu’elles aient été acquises par don ou par achat, une redevance pour droit d’exposition peut être demandée pour l’exposition de ces œuvres, même lorsque l’œuvre est exposée publiquement dans un lieu autre qu’une institution muséale.

Droits d'auteur Arts visuels offre une licence d’une durée de 10 ans pour une exposition dans les locaux de l‘institution propriétaire. La licence est renégociable à l’échéance. Pour toute exposition d’œuvres d’une collection permanente à l’extérieur de l’institution, une licence d’exposition temporaire doit être négociée

Sauf pour la documentation archivistique, toute reproduction d’œuvres, y compris numérique, nécessite une licence de reproduction.

Lorsqu'il s'agit d'un recueil ou d'une série d'estampes, l’exposition d’une seule copie à la fois peut être autorisée dans les locaux du titulaire de la licence.

Si l’institution propriétaire d'une œuvre assujettie à la redevance pour droit d'exposition ne souhaite pas obtenir une licence d'exposition permanente, il est possible d’opter pour une licence d'exposition temporaire chaque fois que l'œuvre est exposée, que ce soit dans les locaux du propriétaire ou à l'extérieur de ceux-ci.

Cession de droits d'auteur lors de la vente d'une œuvre

Lors d’une acquisition, par achat ou par don d’œuvre, certaines institutions ou entreprises peuvent demander à l’artiste de céder (donner) ses droits d'auteur sur l’œuvre. Bien que cela puisse faire l’affaire de l’acquéreur cette pratique est contraire à l'éthique et injuste parce qu'elle a des conséquences négatives pour l’artiste.

Droits d’auteur Arts visuels recommande vivement aux artistes de ne pas céder leurs droits d'auteur aux institutions ou aux particuliers qui achètent une œuvre.

La raison en est que les droits d'auteur sont une source importante de revenu pendant toute la vie d'un artiste et jusqu’à 50 ans après son décès. Ils ont une valeur financière qui peut représenter plusieurs fois la valeur de l’œuvre lors de l’acquisition.

Un ou une membre de Droit d’auteur Arts visuels devrait toujours éviter de signer un contrat d’acquisition qui inclue une cession de ses droits d’auteur. L’artiste devrait informer l'institution ou le particulier que Droits d’auteur Arts visuels la représente pour toutes les questions relatives à ses droits d'auteur.

En outre, au Québec, les artistes peuvent obtenir une réduction d’impôt pour leurs revenus de droits d’auteur. Il est donc particulièrement important d’inclure dans le contrat d’achat une portion du paiement dédiée aux droits d’auteur pour certaines utilisations pendant une période donnée. Lorsque l’œuvre est donnée l’acquéreur devrait au moins verser à l’artiste une redevance pour les utilisations prévisibles. De cette façon l’artiste pourra déduire de ses impôts à payer une partie ou la totalité des droits d’auteur perçus lors de la vente.

Il est à espérer que cette mesure fiscale soit bientôt appliquée partout au Canada.

Licences de reproduction (imprimé, numérique, électronique, film, vidéo, télévision, etc.):

En raison des multiples variables - taille, tirage, technique d’impression, moyen de diffusion, etc. - il est difficile d'établir les redevances appropriées pour les droits de reproduction sans avoir des détails précis.

Par exemple: une image sur une couverture de livre exige une redevance plus élevée qu'une image à l'intérieur ; la taille, le type d’utilisation et le tirage d'une affiche déterminent la redevance à payer ; les redevances pour un livre publié par un éditeur à but non lucratif sont moins élevées que pour une entreprise commerciale.

Le formulaire de demande de licence disponible sur ce site permet à l'utilisateur de décrire complètement le type de reproduction qu'il entend faire et pour quelle raison la licence est demandée. Cette information est essentielle pour établir les redevances à payer.

Les licences de reproduction de Droits d'auteur Arts visuels sont octroyées et payables avant la production. Il peut arriver que la licence inclue un calendrier de paiement si la production se fait par étapes ou sur une plus longue période.

Les licences décrivent les conditions de reproduction en précisant les détails exacts: quantité, moyen technique de reproduction, tailles, type d’utilisation, lieu, emplacement dans la publication (couverture ou intérieur) et les redevances à payer.

Quant aux licences de reproduction numérique elles décrivent les type d’utilisation (site Internet, application mobile, fond d'écran, etc.), la durée de l’utilisation et les mesures de protection (par exemple, les avertissements relatifs aux droits d'auteur ou le tatouage numérique).


Licences de reprographie

Le droit de reproduction par reprographie est géré collectivement. Il s’agit des redevances payables lorsqu’une œuvre, déjà reproduite dans une revue ou un livre, est photocopiée ou numérisées dans des écoles ou universités. Le grand nombre d’utilisateurs et de copies fait en sorte qu’il est plus pratique de gérer ces droits par l’octroi de licences collectives.

Ces licences collectives sont octroyées partout au Canada, sauf au Québec, par ACCESS Copyright. Au Québec, c’est COPIBEC qui remplit cette fonction.

Grâce à des ententes avec ACCESS Copyright et COPIBEC, Droits d’auteur Arts visuels-CARCC reçoit une part des revenus de leurs licences collectives et les distribue à ses membres admissibles.

La majeure partie de ces redevances provient d’utilisations du vaste répertoire d’œuvres publiées. Elles sont partagées entre les créateurs et les éditeurs. Il s’agit de sommes d’argent forfaitaires qui ne peuvent être attribuées à des titulaires individuels de droits d'auteur.

Les artistes membres de Droits d’auteur Arts visuels qui ont fourni à ACCESS Copyright ou COPIBEC une déclaration des œuvres publiées au cours d’une période donnée sont inclus-e-s dans la distribution.

Les montants varient d'une année à l'autre. Le montant qu'un artiste reçoit est basé sur un certain nombre de facteurs : le montant total recueilli par ACCESS Copyright ou COPIBEC, le nombre de créateurs admissibles, le nombre d'œuvres publiées par l'artiste dans des publications portant des numéros ISBN ou ISSN sur une période donnée, etc.

Normalement, un artiste doit avoir été membre de Droits d’auteur Arts visuels pendant deux années civiles avant d’être admissible. Si l’artiste réside dans une province ou un territoire canadien autre que le Québec, il est représenté par ACCESS Copyright. Les membres de Droits d'auteur Arts visuels qui vivent au Québec sont invité-e-s à s'inscrire auprès de COPIBEC qui s’occupe de distribuer les redevances qu’elle perçoit pour les artistes en arts visuels.


Droits d’auteur Arts visuels informe ses membres lorsqu’il est temps de faire une déclaration des œuvres publiées au cours d’une période donnée. En général, les redevances de reprographie de ACCESS Copyright sont distribuées en décembre.

Droits d’auteur Arts visuels informera ses membres des dates limites pour la déclaration d’œuvres lors des distributions de COPIBEC, y inclus les artistes qui vivent à l'extérieur du Québec et dont les œuvres ont été publiées au Québec.

Frais d'administration

L’adhésion des artistes à Droits d’auteur Arts Visuels est gratuite.

Toutefois, les services de négociation et d’octroi de licences de Droits d’auteur Arts visuels doivent être rémunérés car notre société de gestion ne reçoit pas de subvention pour son fonctionnement. Malgré cela, elle s’assure de demander des frais d’administration les plus bas possible aux utilisateurs.

Ce ne sont pas les membres de Droits d’auteur Arts visuels qui paient les frais d'administration mais bien les utilisateurs de leurs œuvres. Les frais sont donc déduits des montants perçus auprès des utilisateurs.

Licences internationales

Droits d’auteur Arts visuels-CARCC peut conclure des accords internationaux permettant à des collectifs étrangers d'autoriser l'utilisation d’œuvres de ses membres dans d'autres pays. Ces collectifs prennent en charge l'octroi des licences d'utilisation et la perception des redevances dans leurs pays respectifs. Les redevances sont versées à Droits d’auteur Arts visuels qui les distribue aux artistes concerné-e-s. Les collectifs étrangers peuvent aussi défendre un artiste en cas de contrefaçon.

Il peut arriver que des collectifs étrangers distribuent aux collectifs avec lesquels ils ont des accords des redevances pour des utilisations non identifiées. Ces sommes sont généralement incluses dans les distributions annuelles aux membres de Droits d’auteur Arts visuels.

Les membres de Droits d’auteur Arts visuels doivent nous aviser de tout besoin de licence à l'extérieur du pays. À l'heure actuelle, Droits d’auteur Arts visuels-CARCC a conclu des ententes avec les sociétés de gestion collective suivantes:

  • VAGA (USA)
  • DACS (Royaume-Uni)
  • VISCOPY (Australie et Nouvelle-Zélande)
  • SAIF (France)
  • VG BildKunst (Allemagne)
  • SOFAM (Belgique)
  • BONO (Norvège)
  • BUS (Suède)
  • PICTORIGHT (Pays-Bas)

Droits d’auteur Arts visuels cherche à conclure d’autres accords similaires afin d'élargir sa portée internationale.

Droits d’auteur Arts visuels-CARCC est membre de la CISAC-CIAGP, l'association internationale des sociétés de gestion collective de créateurs qui définit les normes pour notre type d’activité et nous tient au courant des développements du Droit d'auteur dans le monde entier.